Recovering the medicine of our ancestors

DSC00322
This year the "hierbitas" ( plants) has been taken me to old memories of my grandmother. The smell of the peppermint, brought back the old times when  abuela Olga went to the garden and came back with her hands full of peppermint leaves, she put them in a big jar of boiled water and then.. the magic. she cooked some sugar in a spoon over the flame until was golden brown and put into the cup with the tea….mmm I can remember how good I felt when very young I was sitting beside her.. both in out rocking chairs… Grandma in the big one, me in the little on.. each of us with our cup of fresh tea.

Today I am thankful for all the ways that our r passed to us the daily connection with knowledge. They knew how to help us with pain, fever, headaches, diarrhea, constipation, and so many others akes. The plants have been bringing me back to the connection to the earth, to all the medicines that lives in our back yard, around us…and are ready to help us when we need them.